Flashback Friday…One of my favorite cakes.

spongebob11

 

This is one cake that has given me a lot of satisfaction as a cake decorator. It was made for a dear friend’s son’s first birthday. When my friend told me she wanted a SpongeBob themed cake, I was a little concerned. I did not know anything about this cartoon. My little monkey is a picky cartoon-watcher ( well…I kinda made up that word…sorry), and wouldn’t watch anything other than his favorite Mickey, Little Einsteins and Octonauts. So, to make myself familiar with the characters, I started watching SpongeBob… 🙂 and much to my surprise, I found myself enjoying the show… 🙂 And after a week, I was ready to go.

All the characters were handcrafted out of gumpaste. In the end, I was pretty happy with how my SpongeBob, Patrick, Mr.Krabs, and Gary turned out. See, I know each one of them now…. :-). The people at the party actually mistook them for real toys. The birthday boy couldn’t care less, but his parents were ecstatic….and the final result?..my little monkey learned to say PONGE POP!!… :-).

Hope you guys like it as much I do. Sending this to Fiesta Friday at The Novice Gardener.

 

spongebob22

 

14 thoughts on “Flashback Friday…One of my favorite cakes.

  1. Pingback: Bruschetta or Crostini ?| Fiesta Friday #31 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Wow! I am impressed that you did all that research. What dedication and attention to detail. The result is a fabulous cake which will become part of this little fellow’s history. Well done.

Leave a Reply

